• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Happy Birthday!

Today is my husband’s birthday. He will be 54. He’s 15 years older than me and I like to give him a hard time about that. These comments are usually along the lines of, “When you started the police academy, I was 8.” “When you graduated from high school, I was, um, born.”

But this marrying an older man thing has worked out pretty well. When I met Bill I was in my mid-twenties, and as much as I liked to think I had my shit together then (believe me, compared to some of my friends, I did), I still had some growing up to do. He had a certain maturity that I was searching for in guys my age, but just never found.

Bill is a good balance for me. The ying to my yang. The peanut butter to my jelly. He’s encouraged me to be more self-confident. He’s one of my biggest cheerleaders, nudging me to write on a regular basis, to go after a new job, take up roller skating again or whatever. He’s pushed me to move outside of my comfort zone and do things that I want to do but fear doing. I’m not good with change. I’m not good with trying things if I don’t know the outcome, if I don’t know whether or not I’m going to be good at them (it’s that perfectionist Virgo side of me). He’s got a few years on me so his life experience is broader than mine, and it allows me to see that no matter what happens, you have to DO. You just have to live.

He’s funny, kind of dorky, cuter than me (with the deepest blue eyes), smart and outgoing. He’s more of a “Let’s go do this” kind of person than I am. I get stuck in the details and he lives in the moment. He’s got lots of opinions and isn’t afraid to share them or defend them. He’s very politically aware, well-versed in what’s going on in the world,  and he’s involved in the community. And me makes me want to be a better person.

I couldn’t have asked for a better friend, a better partner in life.

Happy Birthday, Bill!

xoxo

2 Responses

  1. I think you and Lesley are making this guy up. He sounds too good to be true. But as long as you both believe in him, wish him a happy birthday from me, too!

  2. What a lovely tribute to Bill! (And how funny is XUP?? Because he does sound too good to be true, huh?) I’m so happy that you are one of the lucky ones who found her ying/peanut butter. You deserve it.

Leave a Reply

