• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Cranky

Do you ever have those days when you wake up and before you so much as flip the covers off and step on the floor, you’re cranky?

Today was one of those days. There’s no reason for it. Yeah, it’s Monday. But last night I went to bed early. I slept well. I didn’t wake up 16 times to let the dog out or go to the bathroom. I didn’t over-sleep this morning, and I didn’t struggle to get out the door. There was no line in Starbucks—in fact, my drink was ready before I even paid. I didn’t even hit any traffic. I got to work in record time. Work was busy but it wasn’t unusually demanding. I had to work a little late but still got home at a reasonable time. I didn’t feel like going to the gym so I took the dog for a long walk—something we both needed. She even behaved and didn’t pull (much). I came back from my walk and dinner was cooked. There weren’t even any dishes to do. I got to watch what I wanted on TV (caught up on “The Next Food Network Star” and watched part of “Bull Durham”). No one was mean to me today. In fact, people were downright friendly.

So why the hell am I so cranky? Obviously, when things go wrong or someone’s mean, I get cranky. But sometimes when things run too smoothly, when things go too well, I get suspicious and on edge (What’s around the corner? What crap is going to hit the fan next?). Sometimes I’m working stuff out in my head and until I process it, I’m not happy.

And sometimes? Sometimes I’m just cranky. (And sometimes? I embrace being cranky. I know, what a beyotch.)

Hopefully, tomorrow will be better. Hopefully, everything will be crappy, and I can be happy again.

3 Responses

  1. Sending you a day full of crap and smiles! 🙂

  2. Do you ever have days where all sorts of stuff could make you cranky, but you’re not?

  3. Today is a perfectly crappy day and I’m as happy as a clam!

Leave a Reply

