• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Censored!

Tonight I wrote a post that I was particularly proud of. I was so proud, in fact, that I showed it to my husband when I first posted it. A minute later I heard him yelling for me down the hall, demanding that I pull it down. The post wasn’t about him. It was mostly about me but it mentioned a former high-profile client and how she unknowingly played a crucial role in my personal drama years ago. He was afraid there would be trouble for mentioning the client even though it was actually very flattering to her.

After some back and forth I agreed to pull it down. I’m not sure who I’m more pissed atโ€”him for censoring me or me for giving in and taking it down. Especially because he admitted after the fact that he hadn’t read through to the end.

I lied to him at first and told him I deleted it. After he apologized for 20 minutes I admitted that I saved a draft. I made him read it all the way through and he agreed that perhaps he freaked out and told me to repost it.

Now I’m not sure what to do.

Thoughts?

8 Responses

  1. Well, as I managed to get to it before it was pulled down, I say re-post it! the mention of the client was very general (no intimate details!) and she was also portrayed in a very positive light. (And I LIKE her!)

  2. definitely post it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Yay! My first comment from Ho!

  4. Do you have to use the person’s real name? Name her something else and post it.

  5. We had that discussion last night, but the problem is, she has a show on TV, and I can’t talk about the show without mentioning who it is. It would be obvious anyway. I actually tried to rewrite it, but it sort of defeats the purpose. It’s a bummer because it’s kind of a funny story.

  6. I subscribe to you through Google Reader so I saw it…then this one…then the rewrite. LOL. I didn’t see anything wrong with the first one but I can see where the hubs might get nervous about it. Better to be safe than sorry on the Internet.

  7. Oooh. Thanks for the head’s up on getting notified when I rewrite something 652 times. Didn’t know that! I’ll have to slow down and read carefully before I post. :|)

  8. Dang. Haven’t mastered the art of the emoticon.

Leave a Reply

