• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Going to the Dogs

There’s a park about a block from my house that unofficially becomes an off-leash dog park at about 7:00 p.m. every night. As long as the dogs behave and everyone cleans up after their pets, the neighborhood association turns a blind eye. I’ve been walking Gracie by there every night, but I haven’t trusted her off-leash so we haven’t hung around. I’ve kind of felt bad because she looks over longingly like, “Can we, hu? Can we, hu? Pleaaaaaase?”

As we walked tonight, I ran into one of the women I see over there regularly and she convinced me to bring Gracie by, and I’m so glad I did. I was afraid she’d run away if she wasn’t tied to me, but dogs are clearly pack animals and Gracie never drifted farther than the farthest dog.

Gracie is around dogs all the time at dog shows, but tonight was different. She ran and sniffed butts, barked, sniffed more butts, got petted by humans, ran in big packs, rolled in mud and totally wore herself down. I’m kicking myself for not letting her do this earlier. This dog, this insane, hyper, crazy pooch is curled up in a ball, snoring in the corner, happily tired. It’s so wonderful. I’ve been walking her about a mile or so almost every night but this was better than any walk.

Dirty Girl

Dirty Girl

Dogs, like babies, are great ice breakers. You start talking about dogs and then you’re talking about what’s going on in the ‘hood. I’ve lived here for 9 years, but I’ve never really talked to anyone other than my immediate neighbors. But we live in a great community (it’s total suburbia) where everyone is friendly, aware of what’s going on and keeps an eye out for everyone. There’s a sense of community here.

We’re definitely going back. Not only is it good for Gracie, but it’s good for me.

Baby Girl (about 5 months)

Baby Girl (about 5 months)

5 Responses

  1. Too much Social Structure for her at dog shows. This is Social Running-Amok and it’s just what the doggy ordered!

  2. No kidding. I’m not sure who hates that structure moreโ€”me or her. I’m glad that there’s a nice long break after this weekend. She’s tired of being clean and I’m tired of keeping my mouth shut.

  3. Wait. You kept your mouth shut? I didn’t know that was possible. HAHA! ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Awwwww – I’ve been looking for a doggy to adopt for ages now because I want to meet people in my neighbourhood and go to the dog park where everyone always looks like they’re having the Most Fun Ever. Gracie’s gorgeous

  5. XUP: I love that you’re wanting to adopt a doggy. I’ve read that in a couple places in your blog and I’m anxiously awaiting the day you finally find the right one! Then, you can turn your blog into a blatant love letter to your pet. Kinda how I shamelessly use mine to fawn all over Moses. And Mo with Gracie!

Leave a Reply

