• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

You Know You Have Issues When…

I’ve been feeling a lot of stress lately. We’ve been doing some renovations to the house, I have a rapidly-approaching semi-milestone birthday coming up and I’m struggling a bit at work.

Tonight on my way home, I pulled into the gas station to fill up. It’s one of those small, corner stations that’s kind of a bitch to navigate in and out of. I had just finished a 152-point turn to get to the correct pump and a pickup truck pulled in right in front of me. He pretended that he didn’t see me calling him a douche bag asshole (don’t worry, the window was up), but I’m not sure how he could have missed it. I performed another 130-point turn to go to another open pump, and halfway though filling up, the guy walked up and apologized for pulling in front of me. I promptly burst into tears because he took the time to say he was sorry.

Dude, WTF is wrong with me? Are we so immune to people’s behavior that it’s startling when someone actually fesses up to being rude or am I just on the verge of totally coming unglued?

7 Responses

  1. This is such a sweet post. I love it. (Though please forgive my cracking up in the middle over your 152 and 130-point turns.) There is NOTHING wrong with you. At all. And I’m an expert in Mo. I would know.

    I think you hit the nail on the head: Human beings have become waaaaay to immune to each other. Especially when we’re in our cars. (Sometimes we almost lose all sense of humanity entirely. It’s so rare for someone to not only apologize, but to go out of their way to do it. And you and I are the same: Nothing makes us cry more easily than kindness when we’re already On The Verge.

    Tomorrow’s gonna be a better day. You’ll see.
    xoxoo

  2. I suddenly have that song in my head from Annie: “The sun will come out tomorrow, bet your bottom dollar, something something blah blah!”

    Oy.

  3. Please don’t sing that song. Did you actually burst into tears in front of the guy? ‘Cause he may never apologize to anyone ever again if you did. But, like Lesley sort of said, don’t worry about it too much, sometimes what is, just is.

  4. Thank God, he didn’t see. I nodded, said thank you, turned away, THEN burst into tears!

  5. You are so sweet. I turned my stress yesterday into a road rage incident. I practically DARED the rusted out mini-van behind me to plow into me. DOUBLE DOG DARED HIM! The rat bastard!

    Ahem. I had a bad day. :-/

  6. I have an award for you over at my blog, Mo

  7. XUP: Cool! I’ll go check it out! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

