• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

The Daily Snivel

The title of my blog is the Daily Snark, but I seem to be low on Snark and high on Snivel these days. Whaa. Poor me. So today seems to be an appropriate day to stop and regroup. Following the lead of some of my blogger friends, I’m going to try to stop wallowing in the shit and write about a few things that I’m grateful for. This is a great place to come to unwind and let my demons out, but there is more going on than the negative stuff. I’m pretty lucky and it’s probably time to write about that.

So here are a few things that I’m grateful for:

1. My parents are still around and they’re still doing great. My dad will be 80 in a few weeks and he has all of his marbles and he and my mom are both active, happy (as happy as you can be after 55 years of marriage—to the same person!) and healthy.

2. My husband. He puts up with my crap on a regular basis! He’s supportive, loving and kinda cute too. I’m very fortunate that he chooses me every day.

3. My friends. Especially Lesley (Hi Lesley!) who also puts up with my crap. She’s also supportive, loving and kinda cute too (if you’re into brunettes!). She’s like a sister to me and some days I’d be lost without her.

4. I’m grateful that my stupid dog didn’t get hit by a car when she, along with her pooch posse, ran out in the street tonight.

5. I’m feel fortunate that we’re able to make the renovations to our house—even though I’m sick of the dirt, the dust, paint fumes and total chaos that comes with nothing being where it belongs!

6. I’m thrilled every day when I look at my blog counter and see how many people check in with me.

There are so many things, big and small, too many things to list that I’m thankful for.

What about you? What are you grateful for?

5 Responses

  1. Ah, what a great topic! Most of us are so fortunate we really have no idea until we sit down and think about it eh.

    I am fortunate for my kids, my husband’s unconditional love (lord knows I would have given up on me long ago!), my dad, my brothers and sisters – all five of them and their betterhalfs!

    And also very grateful to have pulled up your blog and to have seen a post! Was concerned…take care.

  2. Dude!

    I think there is a typo in this post. I believe you meant to say on ALL days you’d be lost without me. Right?? 😉

    I feel the same way about you. As you know. Because I always tell you. Because I’ve got so much love for you that I will DRIVE YOU ABSOLUTELY BATSHIT CRAZY WITH IT. And do! Too bad! Love, love, love! Without you? I don’t make much sense.. XOXO

    (Thank you for this!)

  3. *Swoon*

  4. I want to thank you for listing my site in your blogroll. Also, I LOVE that you’re a dog lover, particularly a rescue lover (I’ve rescued three labs so far). AND, last but not least, I’m enjoying your blog. OH, AND, if you want to be grateful, I’ve got a gratitude journal going on every Monday. Come by and tell us what you’re grateful for there.

  5. Merlot Mom: Thanks for stopping by. I love your blog and it’s always exciting when someone I like to read stops by. I will definitely check out your gratitude journal on Mondays.

    I love your posts about your trip to Japan. I keep wishing I had a blog when we went to China last year. There was so much to chronicle on a trip like that as you know. And it’ll be nice for you to have a journal to look back on.

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Mo

Leave a Reply

