• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

She Palins By Comparison

There was really a big part of me that wanted Sarah Palin to wow me last night. No, I don’t agree with her views on quite a few issues, but I was willing to give her a chance. I think it’s monumental that a woman has the opportunity to be VP and I didn’t want her to blow it. I wanted to hear what she had to say and how she was going to say it.

After last night’s interview with Charlie Gibson, I’m disappointed. She was unprepared. When I posted my snarky “It’s The End of the World as We Know It” post, I commented that in this world, in this climate, the stakes are too high. I expect my leaders to have a deep, broad experience in national and foreign policy. And after her interview last night, it’s clear she doesn’t. At best, her experience seems remedial. She reminds me of a kid who got caught on pop quiz day at school. There’s only so much cramming on national and foreign policy that you can do in a couple of short weeks. And she’s not ready. And frankly, I don’t see her being ready anytime soon.

To add insult to injury, a selling point for choosing her was the fact that she wasn’t a typical politician. But last night, she was. She wouldn’t answer straight. She spewed the vague I’m-Going-To-Answer-But-Not-Really answers that we’re already getting.

And no amount of smarmy fake chuminess—”Well, Charlie…And, yes, Charlie”—is going to convince me otherwise.

I’ll keep watching the rest of the interviews with him and I will definitely tune into the debate, but Sarah, you ain’t no Hillary.

Bill (husband, not Clinton), I’ll be waiting for your rebuttal.

4 Responses

  1. I am looking forward to Bill’s rebuttal too. Although it WOULD be awesome if Bill CLINTON chimed in here too!

    And ugh. I watched clips today (sleeping last night!) and was equally unimpressed.

    Oh Matt Damon. I *heart* you!

  2. I know. Who thought Matt Damon was going to be the voice of reason in this. I’m actually watching Nightline from last night. Sigh. We’re screwed.

  3. Being out of town, and frankly too busy to watch anything but huricane, I can’t comment. Hopefully you recorded the interview for me to watch on my return.

    However, let me caution all in my pontification; vote issues with regard to record (even limited record) rather than personality. Don’t get caught up on politician worship; he (or she) will always disappoint. Vote your concious for the benefit of the country, the whole of us, not what is best for the rest of you “idiots” even though you don’t know it. Vote the one who walks what they talk. And by contrast, don’t vote against one because you “can’t stand” he / she, their dangerous or stupid or bigoted or conservative or liberal (whether you have any independent proof or not. That’s what I have to say.

  4. Wow. You need some sleep. :|) (NOTE: He’s been in Houston for Ike and hasn’t slept in a few days.)

    I will totally vote on the issues and on the voting record. Here’s my dilemma, though. Obama doesn’t have much of a record other than being present at roll call. Hell, I had perfect attendance in 5th grade, but it doesn’t qualify me to run the country.

    As far as Palin goes, she’s a big albatross around the neck of McCain. Even though I’m a registered Democrat, I like him. He walks the walk and talks the talk. I think he’s sincere and honest. He’s not afraid to state his opinion, which I appreciate even when I don’t agree. He and I will never see eye to eye on abortion, but at least he has a well-thought-out argument. At least he will take a stand. Obama was a deer in headlights when he was asked directly about it. He didn’t want to piss anyone off by taking a position. Which pisses me off.

    It’s a shame. If the damn Democrats got this one right and Hillary was our candidate, I don’t think McCain would have picked Pain.

    I sure as hell hope he knows what he’s doing. And I really hope that we are never put in the position to have to swear her in to the Presidency. She’s like 2008’s Dan Quayle. Wonder if she knows how to spell “tomato”?

    But back to Palin. I don’t like her limited record. I don’t like her fake bravado.

Leave a Reply

