• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

What Else Went On This Week (Halloween Edition)

I’m exhausted. This week was only a taste of what the next few months are going to bring, so I’m trying to brace myself for the brutal intensity of the combination of the holidays (shopping, obligations, parties) and my job (multiple daily deadlines with short turnaround and a crushing workload). Sounds fun, right?

What else is going on? I can’t even remember Monday through Wednesday. They were a blur.

Thursday

Gracie is in a dog show this weekend, so I spent last night bathing and grooming her. I dread this every time. She actually loves it, jumping into the tub with me, getting all lathered up and getting rinsed with the hot water. But by the end of the bath, both of us look like we swam the English Channel. Twice. Once the bathing ends, the blow-drying and combing out begins. The whole process takes a few hours depending on how hot and humid it is. Last night, it took almost three—so no Ugly Betty, Gray’s Anatomy or anything else. Thank god for DVRs.

I realize that a lot of people think dog shows are like beauty pageants for little girls, but I swear to God, she loves it. When you see pictures of her in action, she’s like Paris Hilton in front of the paparazzi—”Hiya! Look at Me. I’m the hottest chick in town, bitches!”

Gracie at the Samoyed Club of America National Breed Competition

Gracie at the Samoyed Club of America National Breed Competition

I’m really hoping she does well this weekend. She’s gotten three points so far (out of the 15 total she needs), so she’s off to a good start. I bought her a hot-pink wig for Halloween. I wonder if that’ll help?

Friday

Tonight we have two Halloween parties to go to. I’m hoping to get off work at a reasonable time because it’s going to take me a while to pull together the totally trashtastic look of Beth, wife of Dog the Bounty Hunter. Bill, of course, will go as Dog.

The Real Dog (Not Bill)

The Real Dog (Not Bill)

Nope, not me.

Nope, not me.

I’ve got Dolly Parton boobs and the most awesomest wig EVAH! Big, blonde, with lots of height. It kind of reminds me of my hair in high school. Except, of course, in high school I shoved all that hair up in a banana clip and teased my bangs to the high heavens. I’m not usually a chick who digs costumes, in fact, I usually hate dressing up and avoid it at all costs. Earlier this year, we had to go to a 1960s-themed birthday party and I was so bitter about it leading up to the event, but once I dressed up and got to the party, I had a great time. I don’t know what it is—some people love the idea of looking like someone else. Me? It just makes me uncomfortable. I just like to look like me. But I’m actually looking forward to tonight. We’re going to look awesome and I think we could win the Best Costume (which is really the whole point, right?!)

We are also (FINALLY) getting our granite installed today and I can’t wait to see the finished product. Making coffee in the bathroom while my husband pees is reallys starting to lose it’s allure, you know? When I left for work this morning, they were nailing down the plywood foundation and I got a little peek at the granite itself. So lovely.

This Weekend

I’m looking forward to a relaxing, lazy weekend, but I’m all but guaranteed not to get it. I have a couple of appointments tomorrow, the dog show is Saturday and Sunday, my parents return from their vacation on Sunday and I have to pick them up at the airport (driving to LAX is NEVER a quick trip), plus I have to grocery shop, pay some bills, clean the house, blah, blah, blah.

Maybe next weekend? I won’t cross my fingers.

4 Responses

  1. Yay Gracie!!! The Jon Benet Ramsay of the canine world (only without the make-up and that whole murder mystery thingy)

  2. I am betting one of those party’s was at Guy’s…I’m jealous! So, did you win?

  3. Eve: Yup, one was Guy’s and had we shown up 5 minutes earlier we would have beaten Larry (aka Sarah Palin) for best costume. Instead, we just consoled ourselves with some wine.

    XUP: Jon Benet Gracie actually won both days. And no one was murdered either. (Not for lack of trying, though. Dog shows are more brutal than beauty pageants.)

  4. Wow, beautiful dog!

Leave a Reply

