• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

My Two Cents, For Whatever It’s Worth

“My interest is in the future because I am going to spend the rest of my life there.”     ~Charles F. Kettering

My thoughts and these two cents won't even get you a gumball

My thoughts and these two pennies won't even buy you a gumball.

Never mind what your political affiliation is. Never mind who you voted for. I don’t care. That’s your business. I’m just so proud of you for getting out there and rocking that vote. We voted in record numbers. The U.S had something like a 64% voter turnout; Los Angeles County had an 84% turnout. Really, that’s amazing. We stood in line and waited for our right, for the privilege, to make our voices heard, win or lose (although there really aren’t any losers in this election, unless, of course, you got screwed by the Yes On Prop 8 asswipes). After all, as someone on Twitter pointed out, if we can stand in line for two days to get an iPhone, we can stand in line for an hour or three to vote.

History has been made on so many levels. As John McCain said, “We never hide from history. We make history.” I’m proud that we elected a black President, but I do hope (and I know I’m going to get shit for this), that it becomes less about him being the first black President and more about him becoming a good president, one who cares about this country, one who will work for every citizen of these United States and one who will lead us forward.

“This is our time, to put our people back to work and open doors of opportunity for our kids; to restore prosperity and promote the cause of peace; to reclaim the American dream and reaffirm that fundamental truth, that, out of many, we are one; that while we breathe, we hope. And where we are met with cynicism and doubts and those who tell us that we can’t, we will respond with that timeless creed that sums up the spirit of a people: Yes, we can.”  —Barack Obama

I am hopeful.


3 Responses

  1. I literally got the chills at one point when I was voting yesterday. I was so in love with democracy that I almost couldn’t contain myself. Our country has gotten itself into such a bad place and guess what? WE CAN DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. We can cast our vote and affect change. We can be heard and we can matter. We can be a part of something much larger than ourselves.

    What an amazing process. And how equally amazing that so many people exercised their right to participate in that process. I wore my “I VOTED” sticker so proudly all day. Despite the fact that every time I looked down it was off of my blazer and dangling from a strand of my hair. (Except for the one time I looked down and it was sticking out of my cleavage.)

    I voted.

    I voted.

    And it made a difference.

  2. I couldn’t vote…and that sucked

    fortunately for me, it turned out as if I had 🙂

    Now let’s hope we can turn this ship around

    C

  3. Lesley: I got the chills, too. And (don’t mock me) I got a little teary-eyed for a second. We are fortunate that we have a say in this country and I will never take that for granted. I wore my sticker all day too, although at one point I looked down and couldn’t find it, then realized it had somehow migrated down to my butt.

    Ho: You have definite opinions about American politics. When are you gonna join us and vote?

Leave a Reply

