• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Rude Awakening

I just found this quiz on Oprah.com and decided to take it. Turns out I’m more rude than I thought (yes, I KNEW I was rude, I just had no idea HOW rude I am).

Here’s the test:

Eighty percent of Americans think that rudeness is a serious national problem, but 99 percent of the same people say that they themselves are not rude. So how rude are you? See how you compare to others!

1. Are you chronically late?
Yes (18%)
No (82%) I’m actually not usually late. I try pretty hard to be punctual.

2. Have you ever typed an e-mail while talking on the phone?
Yes (68%) Totally guilty of this.
No (32%)

3. Have you ever interrupted a face-to-face conversation to take a non-urgent cell phone call?
Yes (32%) Guilty. And the irony is, it totally pisses me off when someone does it to me.
No (68%)

4. Have you gone through a supermarket 10-item express lane with more than 10 items?
Yes (27%)
No (73%) Nope.

5. While among friends or co-workers, have you yawned without covering your mouth?
Yes (29%) It’s more about not getting enough sleep than it is about being bored, though.
No (71%)

6. Have you ever texted or talked on a cell phone in a movie theater?
Yes (18%)
No (82%) No. I’m totally that person who gets annoyed when people are still making noise and talking during the commercials and previews.

7. Have you let your dog relieve himself on your neighbor’s lawn?
Yes (23%)
No (77%) No. I hate when it happens to me, so I’m very careful about this.

8. Have you ever cut in front of someone in line?
Yes (18%)
No (82%) No. My mom is one of those older women who feels she’s earned the right to jump in line but pretends she doesn’t see the 37 people already standing there. I will usually try to direct her to the back of the line, but it’s rarely a battle I win.

9. Have you ever stolen someone’s parking spot?
Yes (11%)
No (89%) No.

10. Have you ever let your child kick the back of the seat in front of him and not apologized to his victim?
Yes (2%)
No (98%) I don’t have kids, but if I did, I wouldn’t. It’s happened to me and I’ve wanted to beat the kid’s parents for letting them do that.

11. Have you ever not RSVP’d to an event by the date requested?
Yes (53%) Sadly, more often than not.
No (47%)

12. Have you ever gossiped?
Yes (95%) Duh.
No (5%)

13. Have you ever taken someone else’s food or drink from the office refrigerator?
Yes (11%)
No (89%) I hate when people steal my Half and Half in the office fridge, so if I do get caught and need something I’ll ask.

136,479 surveyed

Aside from the fact that I truly doubt ONLY 11% surveyed took someone else’s food from the fridge, or ONLY 18% have ever cut in line, I’m not sure this is the best litmus test for real rudeness, though. I think they need to ask the following questions instead:

1. Have you ever cut someone off on the freeway and then flipped them off? Just because. Bonus point: Did you slow down for no reason when you cut them off?

2. Have you ever peed all over the toilet seat and floor in a public bathroom because you refuse to use the paper seat liners or don’t squat low enough to aim correctly? Bonus point: Do you not flush because you don’t want to touch the germy handle?

3. Do you talk on your cell phone as loudly as you can about your sex life, telling off your boss, or your fight with your husband? Bonus point: Do you confront people who stare at you for sharing too much information?

4. Have you ever interrupted someone mid-sentence as if they weren’t even talking to ask about something totally off-topic? Bonus point if you go, “What?” with a who-me shrug when they glare at you.

5. Have you ever talked in your cell phone, ignoring the salesperson who’s helping you and the people behind you in line? Bonus point if you tell the clerk to wait until you’re done but refuse to move out of line.

6. Have you ever tailgated even when there’s no other traffic on the freeway?

7. Have you ever left one cracker or cookie in the package and put it back in the cabinet? Bonus points if you just put the empty package back in the pantry.

8. Have you ever smoked in public and then blown smoke on someone? Bonus point if you said something nasty when they started coughing.

9. Have you ever held a conversation while you were shoveling food in your face? Bonus point if you sprayed your food when talking.

10. Have you ever sneezed or coughed all over someone, especially without covering your mouth or face?

These are just a few things that REALLY judge rudeness.

Care to add anything to the list?


6 Responses

  1. Why are you not writing for Oprah? Your questions are WAY better. I’m with you on most of the answers too….especially emailing while on the phone. I can actually simultaneously, blog, email and instant message while checking the stock market and still carry on a conversation…call me multi talented…or RUDE!

  2. I am SO with you on #6. I recently went to see a movie with a new friend – and was HORRIFIED because she was *still* talking, even after the show had started!

  3. “Have you ever written a blog post while your friend was trying to have a serious, heartfelt conversation with you about things that are serious and heartfelt?”

    HAHAHAHAJOOOOOKE. 😉
    XOXO

    Also?? Your #5 gives me horrible RS flashbacks. *shudder*

  4. I caught a bit of the show Oprah did on rudeness and I had to turn it off when she was answering the quiz. She has to be one of the rudest people on TV. She constantly interrupts her guests or simply doesn’t let them speak at all. I wonder if her staff was trying to get her to realize her own faux pas?

  5. Stiletto Mom: I should totally take over as Oprah. I hear there’s going to be a vacancy since she’s going to be Secretary of State or some other major position. I can be the white Oprah.

    Mamma Dawg: See? You get it. THAT is why I usually go to the movies alone. Drives my husband nuts!

    Lesley: For the record, I wasn’t actually WRITING it, I was trying to RECOVER it, but I’m glad you’ve forgiven and forgotten! Also, every time someone does #5, I totally think of RS! Makes me cringe every time.

    Debra: Oprah has guests for the sole reason that they give her jumping off points for her own comments. She wouldn’t even have those pesky guests if it were up to her! I’d love to see her cut off the President of France or the leader of Iran if she gets some embassadorship position! That’ll go over well!

  6. I’m too rude to read all the way through your post.

Leave a Reply

