• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Merry Suck-Mas (An early morning rant)

Okay, I know that title is sort of sacreligious. Even to me.

Don’t get me wrong. I love the Christmas season. I love the lights, the trees, the smell of baking cookies, the smell of fresh trees, pretty, wrapped packages under the tree.

But, for me, this time of the year sucks ass. It is 6:45 a.m. and I have been at work for about 45 minutes. I left here at 8:00 last night—just enough time to drive home, get ready for bed and go to sleep so I could wake up at 4:30. I drive to work when it’s dark; I drive from work when it’s dark. It has been like this since a a little before Thanksgiving and will stay this way through the end of February. The collision of our busy season and the holidays makes Mo a cranky girl. Every night this week I’ve been on the verge of tears driving home. I’m that tired.

Not me, but a fairly accurate representation

Not me, but a fairly accurate representation

I have done as much of my Christmas shopping online as I’m able—I’ve even ordered wrapping paper online—but Saturday I’m going to have to brave the malls and do a major kamikazee shopping session. The prospect of that thrills me to no end (do you detect the dripping sarcasm?). Somewhere in all of this I have to find time to wrap gifts.

The part that’s really making me bitter is that I may have to come in for a little bit on Christmas Eve, which wouldn’t be bad if I were staying home for the holidays, but our family is scattered around Southern California, so we have to drive two hours to my parents on Christmas Eve, do our Christmas, and then turn around and drive back on Christmas day, stopping at various family members on the way home. There’s no rest for the wicked (weary?) after that. I have to come in the Friday after Christmas. Lather, rinse, repeat for New Year’s.

I know I shouldn’t bitch and moan because there are plenty of people out of a job and they’d kill to come in to work, but I’m feeling kind of burned out. I’m bummed that I can’t enjoy the holiday—which is normally my favorite time of the year. It upsets me that I’m so tired that Christmas music sounds like nails on a chalkboard. I barely see my husband, which is probably a bonus for him because I’m one miserable bitch.

This too shall pass, but I just had to rant so I can go on with my day.

Anyone else totally feeling overloaded, overwhelmed and on the verge?

10 Responses

  1. Not working as much as you in the office Mo…but I feel yer pain on the working all the time stuff…and I’ll raise you 2 sick kids under 3.

    Gotta love pre-school for exposing Callia to the petri dish of every known disease to man.

    I forget what sleep is at this point, and I think I’ve aged 10 years in the last 4 months LOL

    At least I never liked Xmas carols to begin with though.

    The biggest thing I have to look forward to is Callia’s face when she sees her giant Pontiac Solstice that she can actually drive in on Xmas morning…let’s hope that gets me through the week 🙂

    Hang in there, we’re better off than most

    C

  2. Ho: I honestly don’t know how you do it. You must be drinking a lot of Red Bull or something! But you are, hands down, the busiest person I know, with more responsibilities than most people can handle. At least my situation is temporary. Yours is 24-hours a day, 365 days a year.

    But I figured I could rant and rave here or inflict my crankiness on someone here and we all know what wouldn’t fly!!

  3. Mo: It’s called a Salt Creek Extra Dirty Martini OR THREE. And Me!! 😉 And for me, it’s called Same Drink(s)…and You! I’ll make sure you make it through. xoxox

    Ho: WHAT KIND OF CAR DID YOU BUY ME????

  4. Lesley: Oh. Mah. Gah. I can’t wait for tomorrow night. It’s one of the only things keeping me sane. The promise of friendship, a good dinner and ALKEEHALL!

  5. It’s insane everywhere, it think — fewer staff, more pressure. You don’t actually HAVE to visit all these people over Christmas, you know. You COULD take those days and just relax. Tell everyone you’re sorry but you’ve been working 24/7 and this is going to be the only chance you have to veg. You need it. I would completely understand if I were your family. Go see them in spring when things calm down.

  6. XUP: You haven’t met my family, have you?! Maybe New’s Year’s I can get away with it.

  7. At this point, I am literally crawling towards Christmas and have ZERO holiday spirit. I am hoping that changes as it is not normally how I am this time of year…but right now? BAH HUMBUG. Pfft.

    Good luck to you!!!!

  8. Mo. Two words: ‘gift bags’.

  9. oh totally, let me know if you survive tomorrow! 🙂

  10. Girl – I am SO with you on this. I STILL haven’t finished shopping yet, and the only reason anything is even wrapped is because Hubz took the day off with me yesterday to help wrap gifts before we took off.

    And to think… tomorrow I have to hit Costco. I must be asking for it.

Leave a Reply

