• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Random Tuesday Thoughts

randomtuesday

I went to the gym last night. And I actually worked out. This is big news in the Snark household because the last time I got myself to the gym was about two months ago and the time before that was like 4 or 5 months before that. I used to work out at least three times a week—sometimes more. Bill would try to get me to meet him for dinner or drinks after work and I’d be all, “Um, no, I have to work out out.” For a while, before I started this job, I had a personal trainer who kicked my ass a couple of times a week. When I was working out with him I could leg press 200 pounds. Last night? I could barely leg press half of that weight. But I’m tired of feeling crappy and achy, and I’m tired of not having any energy. And I’m tired of not being able to sleep. So I’m back at it. And, of course, I over-did it last night. I’m sore as hell. My muscles are screaming at me.

**********

This is the reason I needed to go to the gym in the first place: This weekend was an orgy of food. On Saturday I baked Red Velvet Cupcakes. From scratch. I used to bake a lot but I deliberately stopped because when that stuff is in the house I have no self-control. Since I haven’t baked in a while, I forgot just how specific you need to be with measurements. As a result, the cupcakes were just okay. I’m not sure where I went wrong, but the frosting…oh Lordy! Cream cheese frosting rocks my world. My recipe called for one pound of butter, one and a half pounds of cream cheese and two pounds of powdered sugar. 2 Pounds. But looky! Don’t they look good?

redvelvet
It’s all about the frosting

**********

After my baking frenzy Saturday afternoon, Bill took me and my parents out to dinner. We have this great new Mexican restaurant in town. It’s not super cheap, but the food is delicious. I am a sucker for a good crunchy taco and these rock my work. And? I washed my tacos down with this:

This is a Bentley Margarita. And objects do not appear larger than they really are. This sucker is huge.

The Bentley of Margaritas
The Bentley of Margaritas
This is what it looks like when your face is over it.
This is what it looks like when you lean over to drink it (‘cuz you can’t lift it)

**********

Also? Clearly, I’m no the only one with a Bejeweled Blitz Addiction. I’ve been getting searches like this every day since I wrote that post.

Picture 1 17-30-43

Maybe a suport group isn't such a bad idea after all

**********
You should also drop by the Un Mom to check out the rest of the Random Tuesday Thoughts posts.

4 Responses

  1. RED VELVET CAKE ROCKS MY WORLD! Unfortunately, I can’t find anybody around here (IA) who makes it as good as my gramma made it, and she passed away some years ago. Would you be willing to share your recipe for the red velvet and cc frosting? *pretty eyes* peas? and carrots?

  2. I know of this restaurant of which you speak…I want to go, been told to go, am hungry enough to go…but…no time to work out so that I can go! Good for you! I got a day in last Friday and was sore until Monday, in all the spots I needed to use during a weekend. Anyway, glad to hear you are up and about and I hope to have you up and about around me soon!

  3. I’m putting in my request for one of those yummy looking cupcakes AND that margarita! 🙂

  4. Well, there goes MY diet. I need to go back to the gym, too.

Leave a Reply

