• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Random Tuesday Crap

randomtuesday

**********
Posting has been a little light around here the past couple of weeks and I apologize. I’m trying to get my shit together over here in Snarkville and will hopefully start dumping my crap writing my scintillating prose again soon.

**********
This is a real IM exchange between me and Lesley at Um…What???:
SNARK: Believe me, you’ve been there for me through a lot of crap. We’re pretty even. Except you won’t go to dog shows with me for some reason…
UMWHAT: Dude. For real! I will go! I told you that! You know how I get my jollies being helpful and being there for you. I’M NOT JACKING OFF ANY DOGS THOUGH. KNOW THAT. Oh my god. I cannot believe I just typed such a thing.
SNARK: Oh! I totally have to find a way to get that on my blog!!!
UMWHAT: You really do.

**********

Last week was exceptionally crappy. I don’t really talk about my job in detail here and I still won’t except to say that I’m concerned about job security. The recession is hitting my industry a little, and I had one of those really uncomfortable conversations that started with my bosses asking me to justify my salary. Not in a You Aren’t Doing Shit Around Here way; it was more of a We Want to Keep You Around kind of way. That’s obviously the good news. The bad news is, I just don’t know how this will play out. I’m hoping for the best and preparing for the worst.

**********

I watched the season premier of Jon & Kate Plus 8 last night. I used to love the show–those kids are adorable—but I wasn’t sure if I was going to tune in because of all the drama. But I did and it was pretty heartbreaking actually. And uncomfortable. They showed footage of one of the little girls hugging her dad and telling him how much she misses him at home. There were scenes where Jon and Kate were about 2 feet away from each other and wouldn’t acknowlege that the other person existed. I know they want to depict a real family with real issues, but I think there’s a line that got crossed. I’m not sure I really want to watch the meltdown of that family. Both Jon and Kate said in separate interviews that they’re putting the kids first, but when they’re old enough (and, honestly, the two older girls are) they’re going to hate hearing about how the implosion of their family was documented on TV.

Anyone watch? Thoughts?

**********

For more randomness, check out The Un Mom. She’s as random as they get!

9 Responses

  1. I’m with Lesley.

    I hope things with your job work out. Bill was laid off last year, and dear God, did it suck.

    I didn’t watch the show. I’ve watched Jon & Kate once. It was all I could take – she’s…she’s just not someone to whom I can relate really. I AM sorry that their marital woes are being documented for TV, though. And for the same reason as you – their kids don’t need to be able to watch that stuff.

  2. I watched the premier of J&K8…it’s like watching a train wreck about to happen in slow motion. I just get ov overall that this is NOT going to work out.

  3. Oh sure, she loves helping you out but draws the line at jacking-off dogs. Talk about a “fair weather friend.”

    Were you able to justify your salary? If so, tell me exactly what you said. Better yet, I’ll send you my boss’ email.

  4. I’m sorry to hear about the turmoil at work. I am hoping the worst is behind us in my job…but like you, I’m still preparing for the worst.

    I watched Jon and Kate too. They both annoy me and I don’t think either is blameless in whatever did or didn’t happen…but regardless, it is sad to watch a family unravel.

  5. Never could get into Jon & Kate plus 8, but I definitely couldn’t do so now. It’s a heart-wrenching experience, I can’t imagine watching it and calling it entertainment. There’s a part of me that wondered if the situation was a way to boost ratings. (I’m not sure what that says about me.)

    On the job front, you’re a class act. I’m sure that you have nothing to worry about.

  6. i watched jon and kate last night too. it was really sad and uncomfortable. i don’t think i’ll tune in anymore.

    my only thoughts about their situation is that there is more going on then anyone knows about EXCEPT jon and kate. maybe if the camera crews go away, those two can work on their marriage. there’s always hope – even through an affair, which seems to be the case. but even then, affairs don’t happen in perfectly content marriages. there is a lot to salvage but a lot worth salvaging their marriage for.

    have you noticed that when men move out they buy sports cars? what’s up with that?

  7. I dont’ think Jon & Kate should have continued with this season – very sad – everything is NOT about $$

  8. Okay. For the record, I am insisting on not jacking off any dogs due to the fact that at one of the last shows Mo was at? There was a dog. Who was not yet performance ready. On account of HE HAD A BIG BONER. So they had to, ya know, JACK HIM OFF.

    Ugh.

    Kate.

    If I was Jon, I probably would have KILLED HER BY NOW. So really? If he cheated on her? That was the considerate thing to do. Not that I’m condoning cheating. But it’s certainly more polite than killing.

  9. Everyone in blogland seems to be talking about this show today. I’ve never seen it and I can’t imagine what sort of people would volunteer their family for something like this. You could pay me a zillion dollars and I’d never expose my child to this. It’s child exploitation and abuse in my books. And speaking of abuse, I don’t think the necessity of jacking off Gracie is ever going to be a problem. Is it?

Leave a Reply

