• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

If It’s Tuesday, It Must Be Random (The Depressing Version)

randomtuesday

I just realized that for the past three weeks, just about the only post I’ve managed to publish is my Random Tuesday Thoughts. I haven’t been able to focus on one real post so I have a bunch of partial posts and thoughts sitting there waiting for me to do something with them. Sometimes I turn them into Random Tuesdays, but most of them are saved and may or may not see the light of day.

**********

On Sunday I went to a place called Massage Envy. It’s basically a membership salon for massages. You pay a fixed amount each month and that fee gets you either a massage or facial. If you get more than one service each month, the additional service is at a discounted rate. So I got a 50-minute massage for $49. Massage Envy doesn’t have any spa-like amenities like a locker room or steam room, but they do have a shower room if you need it. I needed a massage in the worst way—I couldn’t really turn my neck on Saturday—so it was just what I needed. I don’t care about the frills or any of that. I just needed a hard-core massage and that’s what I got. And the best part? They’re open until 10 p.m. Monday through Friday. Have a crappy day at work? Get a massage! Why the hell not?

**********

On Saturday night Bill and I made a spontaneous trip down into Los Angeles and had dinner at a great Italian restaurant and then we went to The Original Farmer’s Market to walk around and listen to music. I hadn’t been down there in a couple of years and I had forgotten how much I love it. They have candy shops, awesome pizza places, a Cajun restaurant that serves alligator (*shudder*) and a bunch of little outdoor bars.

I tend to get stuck up here in The Bubble as I call our little suburb, and it was a nice reminder that I need to get out of here once in a while. I need to go with the flow more and be more spontaneous. Spontaneity is not a big thing with me. But I’m trying to make the effort now because I feel like I’m letting life pass me by.

**********

On Thursday we had a couple of power surges. I guess the power actually went out for an hour in some neighborhoods, but ours just went on and off a couple of times. During one of the surges, my desktop iMac shorted out and now it won’t turn on. I know there’s power coming in and/or going out of it because when my external hard drive is plugged into it, it powers up. I’m hoping it’s an easy (and inexpensive) fix. It’s the last thing I need to deal with right now.

**********

If you want less depressing randomness, click over to The Un Mom for more!

4 Responses

  1. Why do you have such a high-stress life that you can’t even turn your head some days? That’s not good, massage or no massage. Evenings like your trip to LA should be a weekly (if not more often) thing. Relax a bit, eh?

  2. Massage Envy sounds fantastic.

    And mmmm….alligator 😉

  3. you should plan to me more spontaneous 😉

  4. I lovvvvve my randomness with a side of depressing.

    I’d seriously like a six hour massage for $49. I wonder if I can get one of those anywhere?

Leave a Reply

