• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Random Tuesday Thoughts

randomtuesday

Chowing Down

I had one of the best meals evah! This weekend Bill and I drove down to L.A. to eat at Mario Battali’s Pizzeria Mozza and it was day-um good pizza. It’s not like that Domino’s crap or even Pizza Hut. It was even better than John’s Pizza on 44th in New York City where I have eaten entire pizzas by myself once or twice. Mozza’s crust is thin and airy with just enough weight to hold whatever is on the pizza, but not so much that you get a face full of dough. The toppings were amazing—proscuitto, house-made sausage, you name it. Clearly, Mario knows good food.

Further Proof (as if you need it) That People Are Stupid

So the Lakers won the NBA Finals on Sunday night. That’s exciting and all, but winning seems to bring out the worst in this town. Exhibit A:

Asshole (Photo courtesy of the L.A. Times)

Asshole (Photo courtesy of the L.A. Times)

Really? What makes you ever think that throwing a garbage can on an LAPD patrol car is ever a good idea? Especially, when you’re doing it in front of the cameras.

What I’m Reading

I just finished The Beach House by Jane Green…

34520669

and just started Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult.

35373052

Yeah, it’s kind of chick lit, but they’re both very well written. Picoult’s books always tackle headline-worthy topics with gripping storytelling. Years ago I read My Sister’s Keeper and I think I cried the whole way through. Last weekend I watched the trailer for the movie. I’m not sure I’ll be able to get through that—not without 16 boxes of Kleenex. Jane Green is new to me—I think I found her through one of those “Readers Who Bought XYZ Also Bought…” on Amazon. I will totally make my way through her other books. Here’s their synopsis:

Sixty-five-year-old Nan Powell has lived comfortably and happily in Nantucket since the suicide of her husband, Everett, so she is thrown for a loop when she learns that she is in danger of losing her beloved house. After weighing her options, Nan decides to turn her home into a bed-and-breakfast. The guests she gets for the summer are all at a crossroads in their lives in one way or another. Daniel has just separated from his wife and is facing something he has denied for years; Daff is recovering from the heartbreak of a divorce and getting a much-needed break from her anger-filled 13-year-old daughter; and Nan’s son Michael is on the run from a disastrous affair. Nan finds herself opening up to her guests and enjoying their company, but she is shocked when she discovers a person close to one of them has a startling connection to her. Peopled with likable, flawed, realistic characters and moving seamlessly between them, this is Green’s best novel in years, a compelling, unputdownable read.

There’s That News Van!

This morning on my way to work I got caught up in what, to me, is typical Los Angeles. Apparently, a robbery suspect is holed up in a storm drain on the 405S freeway—one of the busiest freeways in Southern California. And my main route to work. All lanes except the carpool and the left lane were closed. There were no fewer than 8 firetrucks, a half dozen California Highway Patrol cars, a dozen  LAPD patrol and undercover cars, paramedics and a full contingency of Department of Water and Power trucks. I’d estimate there were about 60 people standing around a storm drain looking down, chatting and drinking coffee. Meanwhile, Channel 7 reporter Leo Stallworth was reporting from the side of the freeway, most likely saying the same thing he had been saying since 3:00 a.m. when the whole thing started. Like traffic on the 405 isn’t bad enough…

Dear New Neighbor,

We haven’t met yet, but I don’t like you already. You’re clearly new around here, so let me clue you in to a few rules.

1. Though shall not park in front of your neighbor’s driveway, blocking them from entering their own property. Ever.

1a. If you do, even temporarily, do not shoot me dirty looks when I want you to move so I can pull in to my own garage. Asshat

2. Though shall not park 375 cars on the street. This is not a used car lot. This is where we live.

3. Though shall not covet your neighbor’s space. You live three doors down and across the street—claiming the space in front of my house (and everyone else’s) isn’t cool.

4. Though shall not drive 2 inches off my bumper while driving through our neighborhood.

5. Though shall not try to pull around me when I’m turning onto our street. Especially, when you clearly don’t see the 20 three-year-olds running around.

6. Though shall not drive down our cul de sac at 60 mph.

Follow my rules and we’ll get along just fine.

Signed,

The Bitch On Your Street

********************************************************

For more Randomness, grab a martini and head over to Keely’s at The Un Mom.

8 Responses

  1. I never could understand why fans riot after a win. That just seems backwards to me. Not that rioting is ever an acceptable practice, but it just seems more appropriate if there was a loss.

    We have a neighbor with 5 billion vehicles on our street and it is definitely infuriating.

  2. I don’t understand the rioting thing, either. Like LA doesn’t have enough issues. You need to express all of your emotions by lighting things on fire or throwing them? And then your team wants a parade your city can’t afford? Isn’t the riot enough excitement?

    And, yeah, your neighbor is an a$$hat. Start putting out those small orange cones in front of your driveway and your street spot. My neighbor got the picture.

  3. I am almost finished with Handle with Care and it is a great book. I think it’s even better than My Sister’s Keeper. Enjoy 🙂

  4. I can’t read Jodi’s books anymore. Not after My Sister’s Keeper and the one about the school shooting. Nope, can’t handle it. 🙂

    Am not sure I won’t need a whole box of kleenix when i see that movie, but I do want too.

  5. Whenever I see the plugs for My Sister’s Keeper, I have to do a double take cuz I swear I’m seeing Sprite’s Keeper for a split second. Not narcissism, just confusion, I promise!

  6. Read Jane Green’s Swapping Lives next. Really, all of her books are good. And if you like her, you may enjoy
    Last Chance Saloon or Sushi for Beginners both by Marian Keyes.

    Thank you for the reading suggestions. I may have to pick those two up.

  7. I’m going to comment on the pizza thing. It’s really amazing how much mediocre and really bad pizza is being sold and loved all over the world. I like a really thin, light crust, too with a few simple ingredients.

  8. I’m a HUGE Jodi Picoult fan. Read most of her books. Haven’t picked up the newest one yet. My mom got an autographed copy and then lost it! What was she thinking??

    Anywho, a friend saw the movie and said it was better than the book. I’m not sure if I’ll agree but I’m curious to see it.

Leave a Reply

