• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Happy Martini Day *hiccup*

Chill those glasses, stuff those olives and shake (or stir) that vodka because today is National Martini Day, boys and girls! And you know—there are few things we like better around here in the Land of Snark than a perfectly chilled martini.

The classic martini consists of gin and dry vermouth, but James Bond substituted vodka in his—“Vodka martini, shaken, not stirred.” Personally, I’m a vodka girl. Specifically Belvedere. As far as shaking vs. stirring? “Shaking cools a drink more quickly producing a chilly fog (by creating tiny bubbles) and creating a slightly different taste, but dilutes the drink more than stirring does” (so says Google). I shake.

I used to be an apple martini girl…

The Apple Martini

The Apple Martini

…and once in a while I’ll have a chocolate martini…

This photo is the product of bad photography while drinking...

Vodka and Chocolate. Two great tastes that taste great together.

…but then I was introduced to dirty martinis and never looked back.

Olives, a twist or cocktail onions are all acceptable garnishes. My personal favorite is a dirty martini with three olives.

Dirty Girl Martini

6 parts vodka

2 parts dry vermouth (I prefer actually rinsing vermouth in glass and dumping it out)

1 part olive brine (or my personal favorite Dirty Sue)

Cocktail olives

Combine liquid ingredients in a cocktail shaker with ice and shake well. Strain into a chilled cocktail glass and garnish with olives.

Dirty martinis are fun to share with friends, too…

Lesley and I have a long history of drinking martinis together...

Lesley and I have a long history of drinking martinis together...

So mix up a batch, grab your friends and loved ones, make a toast and drink up!

Cheers!

PS: Some sources claim National Martini Day is today; others say tomorrow. I think it should be both. In fact, it should be a four-day weekend.

PSS: No alcoholics or martini glasses were harmed in the making of this post.

11 Responses

  1. Ooh! I am SO going to have a martini today – I’m one of those apple martini girls… but I think I’m gonna have to go dirty tonight!

  2. Cheers!! Aren’t we cute??

    I thought EVERY day was national martini day? CONFUSED. Hee.

    How ironic that on this week of all weeks we’re going out for margaritas instead?? Maybe it’s just like people who don’t buy into Valentines Day: Our martini love is constant! We don’t need a special day to express it! 😉

  3. OMFG. How cute are y’all? TOO FRICKING CUTE, THAT is how cute y’all are.

    Also? I fully co-sign the idea of a Martini Four-Day Weekend.

    That is all.

  4. I didn’t even know it was Martini day and yet magically mentioned them in my blog today. I’m freaking myself out. The dirty and/or original martini is still the best. Cheers!

  5. Vodka? VODKA?!

    I’m, I’m just. . . verklempt.

    How could I have missed this? You’ve mentioned martinis once or twice or twenty times before, and, somehow, I just always assumed you meant. . . .

    I’m sorry. I can’t go on. Must. Find. Gin.

    • I’m sorry—I thought you knew. It’s vodka all the way. I am not a fan of the dark liquors (too many bad experiences) but I like the peppery bite of vodka. Does this mean we can’t be friends?

      • Oh, I guess overlook this. Somehow. Yes. . . I can.

        It’s not that I have anything against vodka. I enjoy it with a variety of fruit juices, for example, and I believe it was a major component of this wicked rural-midwest concoction known as ‘white lightning’, which I enjoyed on more than one occasion.

        On the bright side: more gin for me!

  6. Glad that I can still have a Domaine de Canton ginger Martini tonight – and still celebrate. I thought that was your new favorite, but alas, you may only know how to get one (my house) not how to make one. Yet.

    • I bought the Domaine de Canton but it’s sitting on the bar. I haven’t had a chance to open it yet. I think this might be the weekend to open it though!

  7. Gin and olive juice just don’t go…so the gin is all yours.

  8. Very interesting read! Although i have to say i am more of a Gin and stirred martini man myself. Top mixologists will go with stirred. The flavour is more balanced and less bitter than the shaken.

    Does shaking get it colder? Yes, a bit. You need to work a little more at stirring longer, with the right sized and amount of ice. Or even stirring it ina tin rather than glass. Ideally, you want it cold and diluted, but not too much of either that the flavours will be masked.

    Great video here: http://www.beefeatergin.com/mixology/video.php?video=drymartini

Leave a Reply

