• Archives

  • Meta Stuff

Random Tuesday Thoughts (Facebook Friends, My Hero And, Well, You’ll See)

randomtuesday

Most mornings after I’ve settled in at work I’ll log into Facebook and see what’s going on with everyone. Yesterday morning there was a friend request that I was happy to see, and then there was a friend recommendation. I’m not always sure how Facebook makes its recommendations. It’s usually based on something legitimate like the high school you went to, the year you graduated or mutual friends. But every now and then there are some random ones. Like the one recommending my husband’s second ex-wife. Now, after about 14 years of not-always-peaceful co-existence, arguments, and awkward family gatherings, it’s pretty clear that me and this woman are never—not in this life or in any other—going to become friends no matter how much Facebook wills it so. But I’m still curious because she is not friends with any of my friends or my husband. I’m not friends with their son online either—in fact, I don’t even know if he’s on Facebook.

I have to admit though, I’m dying to see what her profile looks like!

**********

Google Search is endlessly fascinating to me. I get about 15 hits a day based on this post about Bejeweled Blitz. Apparently, I’m not the only one with a wicked addiction to this game. I also seem to get a lot of hits for Bret Michaels, Neil Diamond (mostly inquiring about his marital status), and for Costco. But the last couple of days Google sent a handful of people to me for the search “pants crap.”

Aside from wondering about the person who types these search terms, I couldn’t figure out what hell it had to do with The Daily Snark. I Googled “pants crap” and I never did find a connection to this blog—the closest thing I could find was this post with the word “crap” in the title, but my search opened up a whole new world to me. Apparently, there are anonymous groups dedicated to this. I made the colossal mistake of clicking on a link to see if they were support groups or fetish groups. Guess what? There’s a whole community of people who do this. ON PURPOSE. I don’t mean to shout, but OHMYHOLYHELL.

**********

My hero...

My hero...

This guy? He’s my hero. He is the defender of all things Mo. I’ve had a rough week or so and he’s been there for me, listening, giving advice (when asked), and stands behind me when things go upside down. In a few weeks, we’re going to be celebrating our 10-anniversary and I can’t help but feel like the luckiest girl in the world.

**********

I switched my drink at Starbucks last week. For years, I’ve gotten my venti Skinny Vanilla Latte every morning, 5 days a week, 52 weeks a year. But a friend of mine recently read my tarot cards and told me that if I wanted to bring change into my life, I needed to change up my routine. Simple changes bring bigger ones. I’m sure it has someting to do with being open to new opportunites. I’m not sure why I decided to enact change with my cofffe, but I’ve started drinking a venti misto, which is half coffee, half steamed milk. And I add a packet of Splenda. I’m kind of digging the change. I’m not sure if it’ll stick, but for now I’m test-driving it. However, it turned the staff at my Starbucks upside down.  I’d walk in, and by the time I got to the register my drink was there. I just had to pay. I didn’t have to say much more than good morning and thank you. So when I told them I was changing my drink, all of the employees went into shock. There was a disturbance in the force. Now they view me suspiciously. I may switch back, but then again, I may try something entirely different. I’m feeling kinda wild.

**********

For more randomness, don’t forget to check out Keely’s blog at the Un Mom.

15 Responses

  1. Yeah, I’m pretty sure Facebook reaches far for those friend suggestions. I get people my husband knew in HS, that I never knew, and he never friended. Weird.

    Good luck with the switch. I’m just not that brave.

  2. eeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwww. lol

  3. Your hero? Is SMOKIN’!!! I’d feel like the luckiest girl in the world too!!! Excellent choice for a hero. (Even though Lesley would have made a wonderful choice, as well. Just sayin’)

  4. Jared and I were talking about this yesterday. I SWEAR it’s like you join FB and then they send feelers out into your address books and e-mails and IM programs and shit. CREEPS ME OUT.

    As heroes go, that’s a pretty good choice there. I think he’s been heroic to me, too, on occasion. Or several!

    • Well, you know, he talks into his wrist and has an ear piece. It’s kinda hot.

      There is definitely some weird address book theft going on I think. Either that or Bill friended HER of Facebook and not me!

  5. You may have made a barista cry that day..
    Happy anniversary!

  6. That’s big time, switching your daily drink. I recently gave up my daily drive thru soda and I’m pretty sure they’re going to send out a search party.

    Your hero sounds like a keeper.

    How DOES FB recommend friends? It keeps recommending my kid’s teacher although there are no distant connections and it freaks me out.

    I’m “officially” representing Keely today…consider her represented.

  7. “Like the one recommending my husband’s second ex-wife.” Ha. That would have been one awkward Facebook friendship!

  8. People crap their pants on purpose and have internet groups to talk about it? Is this what you’re telling us? Really and truly? (shudder)

    • Sadly, yes. I am stunned. And I’m more stunned that these people have a way to connect with each other. The internet skeers me sometimes.

  9. Switching up your coffee?

    That’s pretty brave.

    I do it black black black, and only black. I’ll only try something different AFTER I’ve had my usual.

Leave a Reply

